Daily Archives: March 6, 2009

Food Stamps Applications Rise–Beware of Income Reporting

Food stamp use is up according to CNN money. That’s one thing to need and qualify for food stamps.  However, make sure you report your income honestly. They will find you and make you pay every dime back if you don’t.  Food stamps are administered by states.

Record 31.8 million on food stamps

Government shows increase of 700,000 food stamp recipients in a single month.

See all CNNMoney.com RSS FEEDS (close)


WASHINGTON (Reuters) — A record 31.8 million Americans received food stamps at the latest count, an increase of 700,000 people in one month with the United States in recession, government figures showed Thursday.

Food stamps, which help poor people buy groceries, are the major U.S. anti-hunger program, forecast to cost at least $51 billion in this fiscal year ending Sept. 30, up $10 billion from fiscal 2008.

“A weakened economy means that many more individuals are turning to SNAP/food stamps,” said the Food Research and Action Center. Last summer food stamps were renamed the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP.

It’s mighty funny that the government caught me one year back in 1982 of not reporting a little extra income from a graduate school grant I had for one lousy semester. They caught me and sent me a nasty note I ignored. Then ten years later told me I could not buy a house unless I paid back every penny in order to buy a house. That meant coming up with $2,000 on the spot!

A friend loaned me the money. But when the state money got funny they found little me. But when Madoff made off with the funny money he was pushing NO freaking body found him!

The little guy gets the shaft every time. So if you need to use food stamps be sure that you let them know about every dime you get. If you don’t it could come back to haunt you in the future. Beware that you report your income correctly. If you don’t they will sure the hell find you and make you pay. We are not entitled to bailouts, only the Madoffs and the AIGs of the world.

I did get a warning letter, I think I contested it but hell that did no good.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 886 other followers