Why there’s still room for the Dow to zoom


Zoom in on 2000s

Zoom in on 2000s (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I had a horse in the race when the Dow went into freefall in 2008.  I just couldn’t sleep at night because I had a lot of money on the table.  So I would get up in the middle of the night and watch my stocks.  Finally, had enough and sold out all my positions.  I warned a few folks too that the market was about to go into freefall.

How did I know? I am not sure.  But boy was I right.  Some of those stocks have never recovered especially some of the tech stocks on the Nasdaq.  I had lots of tech stocks and some bank stocks that went to zero.

One in particular was bought up by JPMorgan and I 10 shares based on the amount I lost and the JPM hit 50.00 and I sold that shit before you could say JPM.  That stock has never returned to 50 but is close now.  When it was down to 25 I should have bought a boatload because it also pays a dividend.

My new tack is that I buy a little bit of everything and my present positions I can hold for a year or more because I don’t have the same amout of money on the table.  And it seemed that the dump in May plan was in place but hell nobody told me.

So there I was in California and the freefall in the banking began.  The stock I owned in that bank went to nothing, forgot the name but like I said JPM bought it and I got 500 dollars for what I am sure I did not spend on the defunct stock.

I like bank and tech stocks.  Call me crazy.  I have BIDU stock now and I recall when it was worth 300/share.  I should have bought it when I saw it for 100 but I have a few shares and hopefully they will grow.  There is still lots of room for the Dow to zoom higher to 1400 eventually. 

More later

About heloise8

Meaning of "trough" -- Trough is the bottom of a transverse wave. And generically means a low point or a place to fill. Venus is related to this meaning. Veins are to be filled, and venusian people are loving. The left is more venusian than the right, hence The Trough--where Heloise helps the great and the small. Heloise the politico from Blogcritics.org. Physics preacher, blogger, gardener, beach lover, book lover, writer, author.

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Government Trough and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

