Daily Archives: November 20, 2010

The Warmth of Other Suns: what I am reading now

The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration

Here's what I am reading now and can hardly put the book down. It is well written and in my book it is a true epic about the great migration of black folks from the south.

In my particular case my mother's family was from New Orleans and they took the train to Chicago and ended up there. My father's family was also from the south somewhere and ended up in Chicago. They were actually wealthy because his parents, my grandparents, never worked a day in their life because they owned property in Michigan, many apartment buildings in Chicago that they would sell off when they needed money, not a good idea.

By the time my father was grown however they had lost most of the money and did not invest it in education. Instead owned businesses or worked. My uncle once owned the largest wrecking yard in the city where they remade and junked cars and sold the parts. It was on the southside of Chicago, called "Ted's Auto Parts". That's right my dad's name was Jack, and he had brothers named Ted, Bobby and three others.