Daily Archives: July 14, 2011

My Two-Dollar beauty secret

Cocoa butter

Image via Wikipedia

Moisturizers can be expensive.   After riding my bike out in the sun for weeks I noticed that my neck was getting way too much sun and looked much darker than my face and body.  So I started wearing more sunblock and a scarf on my neck.  But I also wanted to undo some of the darkness.  I bought a roll of 100% pure cocoa butter to rub on my neck.  It moisturized and I noticed a difference immediately.

Then I started to put some under my eyes where I had a dry patch but not dark circles, upper cheeks really.  Then I noticed it started looking better and the makeup was hiding my dark areas where it did not really hide it before.  I have spent a fortune trying to find the right moisturizers.  And without even trying happened to try cocoa butter, the one in the tube you roll on, and I am amazed at the results. 

John Wiley Price—another black official under FBI investigation

http://blogs.dallasobserver.com/unfairpark/2011/06/john_wiley_price_investigation.php

According to the county land records I’m looking at, Dallas County Commissioner John Wiley Price bought nine acres of land on Grady Niblo Road near Mountain Creek Lake in far southwest Dallas from a man named Wayne White on September 3, 2002.

But here’s the curious thing. On that very same day he bought the very same land from his own administrative assistant, Dapheny Fain.

Wait. How can you buy the same land from two different people on the same day? That’s the question. Earlier today I left messages by phone and by email with both Price and Fain and did not hear back from them personally. I did speak with attorneys for both.

Price’s criminal attorney, Bill Ravkind, told me he has “more than two” CPAs combing through all of the commissioner’s real estate transactions over the years. He said he is not able to address questions about any specific transactions yet.

I spoke with Wayne White, who sold the land to Price, and I can understand why Ravkind might want to take his time unraveling this and other deals the commissioner has been involved in.

White is an antiques dealer who once rented space from Danny Faulkner, a legendary figure in the history of Dallas real estate and banking scams. Faulkner was released from prison in 1998 suffering from what was supposed to have been inoperable brain cancer, now in remission. He had served three years and 11 months of a 20-year federal sentence for stealing $100 million from five savings and loans.